Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

You are looking at 11 of 1 results

Contributor: Illukpitiya, Dharshanie x
Clear All

Part IV Indian Subcontinent, 22 Sri Lanka »

Dharshanie Illukpitiya, Avindra Rodrigo
From: Asia Arbitration Handbook
Edited By: Michael Moser, John Choong
22.01 Sri Lanka attained independence from the British on 4 February 1948 and became a Republic in 1972. The current constitution (the Second Republican Constitution), was adopted on 16 August 1978. 22.02 Sri Lanka has a unicameral parliament with 225 members who are elected by popular vote on the basis of a proportional representation system. The Cabinet of Ministers is appointed by the president who is elected by popular vote. 22.03 In 1977, Sri Lanka adopted a market-oriented economic policy with export-oriented trade, and the encouragement of foreign...