Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

You are looking at 11 of 1 results

Contributor: Abraham, Tan Sri Cecil x
Clear All

Part III Southern Asia, 14 Malaysia »

Tan Sri Cecil Abraham, Thayananthan Baskaran
From: Asia Arbitration Handbook
Edited By: Michael Moser, John Choong
14.01The British-ruled territories of the Malayan Peninsula formed the Federation of Malaya in 1948 which became an independent State on 31 August 1957. Malaysia was formed on 1 September 1963 when the former British colonies of Singapore and the East Malaysian States of Sabah and Sarawak on the northern coast of Borneo joined the Federation. In 1965, Singapore left the Federation and became an independent State. 14.02Malaysia practises parliamentary democracy with a constitutional monarch, His Majesty the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, as the Supreme Head of the country....