Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

4 The CIETAC’s Jurisdiction: (Article 3)

From: A Guide to the CIETAC Arbitration Rules

Jianlong Yu, Lijun Cao

From: Oxford Legal Research Library (http://olrl.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 11 December 2023

Treaty provisions — Jurisdiction — Arbitration

This chapter focuses on the CIETAC’s jurisdiction. Article 3.1 of the CIETAC Rules provides that the CIETAC accepts cases involving economic, trade, and other disputes of a contractual or non-contractual nature, based on an agreement of the parties. There are three types of cases accepted by the CIETAC: (1) international or foreign-related disputes; (2) disputes related to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Macao Special Administrative Region, and the Taiwan Region; and (3) domestic disputes. However, both the CIETAC and local arbitration commissions are prohibited by the PRC Arbitration Law from assuming jurisdiction over certain types of disputes. The chapter addresses these non-arbitrable matters under PRC law. It then traces the evolution of the CIETAC’s scope of jurisdiction. Lastly, the chapter assesses the jurisdiction of local arbitration commissions.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.