Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

3 Introduction to SIAC Arbitration

John Choong

From: A Guide to the SIAC Arbitration Rules (2nd Edition)

John Choong, Mark Mangan, Nicholas Lingard

From: Oxford Legal Research Library (http://olrl.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 02 February 2023

Arbitration — Mediation

This chapter begins with a brief history of the Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) and its rules of arbitration. It covers the establishment of the SIAC and the evolution of its corporate and management structure. The chapter then identifies the key differences between the six iterations of the (standard) SIAC Rules. These include the 1991, 1997, 2007, 2010, and 2013 SIAC Rules; retrospective amendments to the 2007 and 2010 SIAC Rules; SIAC domestic arbitration rules; and bunker claims procedure, mediation–arbitration procedure, and derivatives arbitration. The chapter concludes with a graphical overview of the typical stages in an SIAC arbitration conducted under the 2016 SIAC Rules. The relevant rule for each procedure and the chapter in which it is discussed are identified in the flowchart.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.